hasemrobot.blogg.se

Basilisk emulator how to start it
Basilisk emulator how to start it












  1. #Basilisk emulator how to start it for mac os
  2. #Basilisk emulator how to start it mac os x
  3. #Basilisk emulator how to start it install
  4. #Basilisk emulator how to start it pro

It must surely be getting hard to maintain though! Perhaps one day we will see native versions of Accordance ported to a nice modern toolkit like QT ! I can always wish anyway. Maybe one day there will be a real choice in native Bible software for Linux, but until then, Kudos to accordance for working so hard to support such and old legacy emulation system! I'm also interesting in hearing how others fair running under Linux, because I will never return to Windows, and given the way Apple is heading, I doubt I'll ever get into OS X either. I'm guessing most others are using Ubuntu, but since this is based on Debian, there will be a fair degree of similarity. I did it a while ago, but I'm sure I could repeat the process and add detailed instructions for everything here on this forum - or somewhere else that might be appropriate.

basilisk emulator how to start it

#Basilisk emulator how to start it mac os x

It is not necessary to use either Windows or Mac OS X to create disk images. I also created and installed Mac OS 7 using only linux tools.

basilisk emulator how to start it

It is not at all difficult to build - especially if you are willing to do without things like sound/network access. There is some trickiness with getting sound, networking, and audio to work that I haven't looked into yet.įor those who are interested, I have run Linux (Debian) exclusively for about 10 years now, so I can probably help answer questions for those interested in getting Basilisk II and Accordance up and running.īasilisk II is in the Debian repositories, but I have also been able to build it from source, taken from its CVS repository.

#Basilisk emulator how to start it install

Apple also provides (for free) OS 7.5 install disks.Īs far as I understand, you'd have to un-compress all of those disks, load them up, install OS 7.5 into the emulator, then install Accordance. I don't have time right now (finals, work, impending marriage) but there are links to a startup disk. You need some kind of startup disk since the harddrive file you created is initially blank or uninitialized. That will get the emulator to start but not actually run anything. You need to create a file that will represent the mac's harddrive (which you can do through Basalisk II)

basilisk emulator how to start it

You need a ROM image of a particular model of macintosh.

#Basilisk emulator how to start it for mac os

It seems like Basalisk II is better suited for Mac OS 7. There are two that I know of, SheepSaver and Basalisk II. Since we don't have the physical hardware or are running on different hardware (like Linux or Windows) you need an emulator. Here is what I understand about the problem: I was able to run Basilisk II, create a new Mac harddrive and start the emulator but it did not recognize the disk. Note: A Mac ROM is a snapsot of some of the internal software on a mac and you are only legally suppose to use it if you own that version of a mac. * is a more in-depth tutorial and contains links to Mac OS ROMs. * has links to downloads so you don't have to compile from source (and also links to network drivers) * lists the official way to setup basilisk II

basilisk emulator how to start it

I used a combination of pages to get things running: Basilisk II is no longer in the Ubuntu repositories (at least for the latest versions of Ubuntu) but there are pre-compiled binaries that you can get elsewhere.

#Basilisk emulator how to start it pro

I've got a MacBook Pro that's running Ubuntu under VirtualBox. We've been chatting about this on Twitter, but I think this is probably a more appropriate medium.














Basilisk emulator how to start it